Comin’ On Into the Home Stretch…

I haven’t been putting the cards up as I’ve been doing them because the pace is just furious now; when I’m about to finish a project, the speed of creation becomes hyper-accelerated and the images have been rolling on out there. So, here’s what’s fresh:

Ruin was fun to do, despite the grimness of the image. It was such a challenge to balance the level of blood – at one point, the corpse looked like it was covered in bright red wax. Finally, I found a balance with just small wounds and the puddle underneath:

10 Swords

10 Swords

 

That moon, by the way, is mine; I took the picture at a ball game (Burlington Lake Monsters, AAA Short-Season).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then came the court cards, of course, and by this time ’round it was easy to work the formula of rainbow limbs, disembodied face and elemental tool in the color of the secondary element (ie, the sword in fire of air is red, in earth of air it’s green, etc).

And speaking of the court cards, I will be discussing the way I derived my non-gender-specific court cards and the sixteen ways of reacting to the world it addresses in a later post.

So, anyways, here’s the family of Thinkers, the court of swords. Handsome buncha people, I think.

11 Swords

11 Swords

12 of Swords

12 of Swords

13 of Swords

13 of Swords

14 of Swords

14 of Swords

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And, of course, that brings me to…  *trumpet fanfare*

THE LAST SUIT!!!

(whee-ha!!!)

Here’s the ace, deuce, trey and … well, whatever counts up to five of the suit of Earth and the Power of Manifestation:

Ace of Stones

Ace of Stones

2 of Stones

2 of Stones

3 of Stones

3 of Stones

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And, yes, you’ve seen the 3 Stones’ background before in this deck; it’s a glacier in Alaska that my father snapped for me some years ago. Most of the stock that isn’t my own or my husband’s will be from the shutterbugging pater. Thanks, Dad!

 

4 of Stones

4 of Stones

That “pavilion” is in fact the front entry for the Wells, Maine, Urgent Care Center, where I took pictures while waiting for my husband to get some stuck earbuds removed… the stairs, by the way, are simply a cut and paste of the pavilion’s posts.

5 of Stones

 

 

 

 

The only thing more fun than creating the buildings in the 5 Stones out of whole pixels was destroying it and filling it with rubble.

The brick texture, btw, is from the side of an antique store in the village center where I live, at the site of a building which used to be the local butcher. The whole north wall of the building has been re-surfaced in a nauseating “antique” brick that, despite being in bad taste in real life, has become a standard fixture in my stock pictures. If you see a brick texture in any of my art (not to mention this deck), chances are it’s from that same wall.

Only 9 cards left to go! Then I have to edit the first dozen or so to bring them more in line with the style I eventually settled on, then get the colors on each card to match with the standard templates I’ve created, then write the necessary little booklet and the box…

back to work.

This entry was posted in Art, Spirituality and Religion, Tarot and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

