The Scandal of Ex-Scientology

EDIT (9/20/16): I see that this article is currently being cited as an example of “disparaging” ex-Scientologists – but if you actually READ what I say, nothing is further from the truth. I love and support all those who have survived this dreadful cult. This article is meant to point out the *actions* of people and offer a possible explanation, NOT to insult them. Remember, just because you don’t like a person’s actions doesn’t mean you don’t like the person. After all, I’m not calling anyone mentally deficient, or crazy, or engaging in any sort of ‘ad hominem’ attack; I am merely recounting my interactions and my experiences – if I don’t name anyone, it’s because I’m focusing on the behavior, not the person, and honestly understand that we all do stupid things from time to time; it’s part of being human.

Only someone who was incapable of anything other than “Black & White” or, “All or Nothing” thinking would see this article as an insult to ex-Scientologists. Please, dear friends – I am NOT attacking you, nor shall I ever. And, I repeat, I’m especially not calling all ex-Scientologists crazy (some do, sadly, succumb to insanity – see below – but this is a small minority and not the norm). Most of the brave souls who leave this cult, leave with their sanity quite intact. But to ignore the damage that this horrible, destructive cult does to people is the height of denial -especially when I keep seeing good people repeating the same self-destructive behaviors, as the ones I’ve detailed below. Dear ones, you’re only hurting yourselves. And I still love you all.

AND ANOTHER TEENSY EDIT: as you can see here, Robinson really is my legal surname, and, for the last two decades, my friends have all called me “Spike.” So no, I’m not an alias, nor do I play one on TV. And what you see here is what you get. I’m not interested in getting involved in any mudslinging or drama, nor shall I ever engage in personal attacks against anyone. Life is too short to spend it angry and fighting against the wrong target.

So, before we go back to the article at hand: I’m just gonna leave this here:

So, Who Is Telling the Truth?

Now, on to the article:



Please forgive the snarkiness of this post, my dear friends, but I am a woman sorely provoked.

never ins creed

Since I’ve stepped up my involvement speaking out against the abuses of the Cult of Scientology, I’ve had my motives questioned, been called a profiteer and a ghoul, as well as all sorts of colorful profanities. I’ve been accused of taking advantage of the pain of the bereaved, even “dancing on the graves of dead children.” Seriously. People I thought were friends were suddenly posting mocking chants about me, blocking me and then repeating out of context intimate details of my life I had confided to them, calling me a “dangerous psychopath” and worse. I’ve had people whom I don’t even know write accusatory online rants about “who is this Spike Robinson and what is she to Jon Atack?”[1]

The really ironic thing is that, at least in my case, most of these attacks are not coming from the cult or its operatives. It is true that the cult has people specifically specifically tasked with going into online forums to “stir up trouble,” but as I’m relatively small fry, I’m honestly not worth the cult’s time. The people attacking me are, by and large, my fellow critics, people who were harmed by the cult and actually think they’re doing “the cause” a favor by acting the way they do.

What’s more, I know that the attacks I’ve experienced are mild by comparison. The most I’ve ever lost is a few hours’ sleep because I got myself too worked up at some of the stupider and more outrageous bits of trolling.

There are people who have had their lives ruined by this kind of garbage. Small wonder Jon didn’t want me to tell anyone I was his PA. Not because he didn’t want people to know (perhaps he’s ashamed that an American is correcting his grammar and punctuation?), but really because he didn’t want me attacked until I had a thick enough skin to handle it, and he didn’t want me to get hurt, or at least not too hurt to edit and proofread his copy (all kidding aside, Jon is one of the sweetest, kindest, and honestly considerate people I’ve ever had the pleasure to meet. A true gentle man).

I’ve been told over and over again, by exes and critics alike: “get used to it! Don’t take it personally!”

And they’re right: I really mustn’t take it personally. Because, after all, it’s not the people I’m dealing with, but the personality of the cult leader, as reflected in the behavior of the cult members, even after they become cult survivors.

The cranberry-drinking one calls it “cloning.” It’s been well-documented that cult members will all affect the same personality type as each other – some experts call it the cult personality. I call it a cultic “shell:” a set of behaviors and habits that the leader passes on to his followers, along with the dogma, the phobias, and the abuse. And usually, once you leave a cult, you’re back to your own self within a year or so.

Recovery from Scientology, on the other hand, takes significantly longer – a dozen years at least, often more. You can take the person out of Scientology, but getting the Scientology out of the person is, apparently, a tougher order. I’ve seen it up close and personal throughout the last year of working in the field, all sorts of manifestations of the Hubbard personality, popping up out of good people and biting the very people who are trying to help, like a wounded animal.

Now I said I have friends who are exes. Any of you exes reading this, I still love you. Really, I do. You’re all heroes to me, just for getting out. Some of you have survived losses and deprivation more horrible and complete than I could ever comprehend. But, yes, some of this (not all) shall be describing you – these are generalities, of course, and believe me, I’ve got issues of my own, if not whole subscriptions. But know, my friends, that you are not “damaged goods,” (far from it!), or case studies or psychos, but survivors, and admirable exemplars of the resilience and goodness of the human spirit.

However, there are a few self-destructive, counter-productive habits that seem to be woven into the culture of ex-Scilons so deeply that these brave survivors seem to be simply unaware of their more cultish actions and behaviors. Now, I believe that it’s when we face our problems and look at them honestly that half the battle against those problems is already done. So, with that in mind, here are a few things that make life with my ex-Scilon friends so gosh-darn interesting:

They fight like wounded weasels in a wet bag.

For the Scientologish, their cult shell is woven from the personality of cult founder L. Ron Hubbard, who was notorious for making friends rapidly, and then just as rapidly deciding that they were his enemies, even accusing them of conspiring against him. The world of Scientology is one of shifting loyalties, betrayal, and disconnection, that is, totally cutting yourself off from people in your life based on whether or not they are “ethical” in the eyes of the organization. These patterns, once ingrained, are hard to break: one of the reasons I’m Jon Atack’s PA is, in fact, because he needed someone who was an ex-cultie but NOT an ex-Scilon. Why? simply put, so that I wouldn’t have my own complex web of people who hated me already. Of course, now there’s a complex web of people who hate me because I’m Atack’s dog, but that’s his problem, not mine. Well, mostly his.

Apparently, there are a lot of people who hate my boss so much that they won’t speak to him directly or even come out and say what it is they don’t like, but will keep finding me online and “confronting” me in forums, hinting about deep secrets and shadowy deeds Jon is somehow responsible for, but then shrinking from saying anything concrete when out and out asked.

One recent troll ranted on about police and judges taking money and public officials being complicit in the crimes of the cult, which is, sadly, perfectly true. The CO$ does seem to own not only the city of Clearwater, Florida, but also certain parts of the LAPD, the FBI, even holding sway famously over the IRS. But when I asked the person who was mentioning all this as a reason why she didn’t respect Jon, whether she thought the author of A Piece of Blue Sky would actually be complicit with the cult, she had to back down, amending it to that Jon is “not the expert he thinks he is.”

Got news for ya, lady. No historian is the expert he thinks he is; professional arrogance comes with the territory. But you were talking about crooked cops and complicity – now, if your only concern is that he’s “not the expert he thinks he is,” why are you going out of your way to bombard his assistant with dark hints about corruption and money changing hands? Of course, I know the real reason this person doesn’t like Jon. She’s a fan of another prominent ex-Scientologist, someone else who happens not to like Jon. And simply naming him alongside such concepts is a technique called “placement,” which L. Ron Hubbard – and other manipulators – have used for centuries in order to smear an innocent person with the crimes of others. And there’s no one some ex-Scilons seem to enjoy smearing more than other ex-Scilons.

It says something that every single ex – including my own cranberry-quaffing Quixote – has a list of exes they just won’t talk to. I found out quite rapidly on the ex-Scientology message boards and forums that there are many people who will judge you by whether or not you like Mike Rinder and Marty Rathbun – or Jon Atack.

Sounds childish? Well, according to experts in the field, the mental age of a cult member is twelve, and the pieces of the cultic shell will often force an ex to display these arrested behavior patterns, even after leaving the cult. Even decades after an ex-Scientologist leaves the Org, preadolescent behavior will crop up, even in the most mature and responsible individuals, and they will use all their rationality to defend what they would instantly know to be completely ridiculous behavior – if it were anyone else but them. Because, yes:

They think everything is about THEM.

There will be at least five people who will think that this article refers specifically to them. Well, it does. Just not specifically. You ALL do this, dear friends (or, at least, most of you do). L. Ron Hubbard was notoriously paranoid, and this paranoia has leeched deep into the ex-Scilon psyche. One man, whom I recently blocked when he wouldn’t stop confronting me in online forums and hinting darkly about “my employer” and his alleged misdeeds, would be horrified to know that when I mentioned him to Jon, he didn’t know whom I was talking about. Just before I blocked this troll for good, he was asking me if Jon was paying me to keep tabs on him and “run interference.” Oh, yeah, you’re the most important person in the world to an author who’s never heard your name before. Really. Which brings me to my third point:

They think everything SHOULD be about them.

Now, I certainly don’t mean all exes with this one, but every critic knows at least a few people who are still trapped in this mode: everything HAS to be about them or at least their pet agenda. I put up a compliment about one critic. Three other critics ask, well, why didn’t you mention me? Or they’ll post a link to their own pet project, telling you how theirs is better. You post something about voting rights in Texas and they’ll put up a link to their own blog about how they rescued a pony in Virginia. Or they’ll tell you how you’ve just insulted them deliberately and deeply (see above). In short, they will do something – anything – to make your post about them. Or, if they can’t do that:

They will pick apart anything you do.

Hubbard hated anyone else having success: the infamous Mission Holders’ Massacre happened because he didn’t like the mission holders succeeding more than he had with Dianetics. I’ve seen people lambasting Tony Ortega, simply because he is so successful. Closer to home for me, the “Getting Clear” conference in Toronto was a resounding success – that week. Then, only because Jon was the main speaker and onstage host, a small cadre of people decided that we were doing it all “for the money”, or that we were being “elitist”, or that we hadn’t invited this person we should have, or we did invite that one we shouldn’t have, or we hadn’t done this or that or the other thing. Why should I care what a small group thought and said? Well, people believe what they hear from their friends, and then they start repeating it, over and over, to other folks they know. Now, I didn’t make the decisions about the charging for the videos and neither did Jon. But do you think that that fact kept hundreds of people from accusing us of running the event just to make some “blood money,” (and yes, that phrase was used)? And why did these fellow critics, people supposedly on the same side, decide that, because they didn’t like the host presenter of the conference, they must “tell the world” that it was a horrible, or at least, useless event, and get as many other people as possible to say so, too? Because:

They engage in black and white thinking.

This is probably at the back of most of these points. Hubbard was the master of “all or nothing” thinking, and frequently paraphrased his core belief: “if they’re not with us, they’re against us.” If I don’t agree with you that ham tastes better than beef, we can agree to disagree. However, imagine if, because you prefer ham, I decide that I must also disagree with you on everything else, and that the very fact we disagree means that you must be a horrible, evil person, and working against everything I hold dear. While this sounds absurd in theory, I see variations on this mental model every day now, in different combinations and levels of complexity and intensity. I already know that simply posting this article will lose me a few friends, because they simply will not be able to handle the criticism. If I say I don’t like a behavior, I must not like the entire person (which simply isn’t the case – I love them with all their faults – and I’ve got plenty of faults of my own, some of them on this list, and not just because I’m an ex-cultie). Because they disagree with another critic, even on what might seem to be a minor point to someone else[2], it too often follows that the other critic must be evil, and thus someone who cannot be respected, listened to, or trusted. This often leads to the most disturbing behavior of all:

They make up the most insane accusations about each other – and anyone else around them.

L. Ron Hubbard is known to have turned ex-friends in to the House Un-American Activities Committee as Communists, and accused even his current friends of horrible, deeply disturbing crimes. No less than a half dozen exes I know and respect are convinced that certain other exes I know and respect are stalking them, or are actually OSA spies. People whom I know have done good speaking out against the evils of the cult also spend their valuable time maintaining “hate websites” on each other, conducting complex “back-channel” negotiations and rumor-mills via private messages, maintaining networks of multiple sock puppet spies, and perpetrating whispers of treachery, lies, deceit, even rape and murder.

I’ve just re-read that last paragraph and realize how bizarre it sounds. But, because I’ve dedicated my life to helping people out of cults, this is what my life sounds like now.

It’s tinfoil hat time, all the way. Which brings me to my final, and saddest, point:

Some of them have gone completely insane.

The reason it takes over a decade to recover from this murderous group’s mental influence and its thought patterns is due to the extreme nature of its “training routines.” According to cult expert Steven Hassan and other leaders in the field, these “TRs,” which form the backbone of much of the lower courses, are simply a form of hypnotic induction, and thus, can implant hypnotic suggestion and also, like many forms of hypnosis, lead to dependency on the therapy – and the therapist. No less of an expert than Margaret Singer declared that Scientology programming was more damaging in the long term than the thought control techniques used on prisoners of war in North Korea. This stuff crushes souls worse than heroin. So, unfortunately, there are some critics, some of them prominent members of the movement, who are, sadly, completely batshit bonkers. If you manage to get one of them in chat, they will tell you confidentially that Xenu is real and that the CIA have taken over, and that the LSD experiments of the late 60’s were really Hubbard’s brainchild, and that even now, every single police department in this country has a dedicated Scilon officer … this is the real scandal of Scientology: this cult has destroyed lives, shattered minds, torn apart families, and has conditioned its survivors so well that only a handful of them are able to rise completely above the petty bickering and “side taking” that this group’s dynamic leaves in its wake. The fact that even the most bizarre of the conspiracy theories is not too far off from the actual reality of this multi-billion dollar cult with more lawyers than buildings is a good reason that the worst off of these poor souls remain beyond the help of even the most competent of therapists, at least while their dragon is still alive.

And, in the end, no matter how hard I’m bitten, that’s why I’ll never leave.

I promise.

[1] I’m the poor fool he underpays to blue-pixel his punctuation, manage his footnotes, put his paragraphs in order, work up his illustrations, get his work ready for publication, and help him figure out which one of the million projects screaming for his attention needs to be done now. When I get to his side of the Atlantic, I’ll no doubt be fetching his cranberry juice and doing the dishes, too (fair exchange though: as I’ve heard from mutual friends, the man is an excellent cook). In short, I’m Sancho Panza to his Don Quixote, Dr. Watson to his Sherlock Holmes, even, yes, Penfold to his Danger Mouse. That’s what I am to him. What’s it to you?

[2] The sad troll who thought that I’m being paid to keep tabs on his actions is a prime example of this: his reason for imagining Jon as some sort of criminal mastermind, and in league with the very cult he claims to be fighting against is simply because Jon’s definition of religion does include Scientology as a religion. However, he maintains that a religion can be evil, criminal, and completely abusive, as well. Not my viewpoint, the boss’s. You wanna argue with him about it directly, you can leave him a message here, and I’ll forward it along (EDIT: the addy I had before apparently goes to a dead e-mail; I apologize). He loves a good debate, and, in fact, debates this point very well, at length, and with some vigor: this is the organization that almost destroyed him utterly, and he holds no love for it. The only time I’ve seen him anything other than pleasant and mellow is when he’s discussing the depredations of what he often calls “the clut.” And, no, he’s not “raking in the money” doing anything even resembling auditing or dianetic therapy on anyone.

This entry was posted in Art, Cults, Philosophizing, Scientology, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to The Scandal of Ex-Scientology

  1. loriisfree says:

    Excellent analogy! Hold your head up high and know you DO have friends who agree with you totally. I’m going to Facebook you a simple thumbs up so you know who I am.

  2. Leann Gregory says:

    Excellent writing Spike! As a never in Scientologist I spot the left over, almost knee jerk suspicion of others regarding certain critics from time to time. It must be difficult to deal with the personal attacks but, I hope the good work you are doing makes up for it. I was raised in a Fundamentalist Evangelical church which bordered on a cult myself. I think it contributed to my interest in learning about the abuses of Scientology. I hate injustice in all its forms. I want them to stop the abuse. That’s my motive and in my opinion it’s the same for almost all the critics. Keep working Spike, I applaud your efforts!

    • phoenyxrose says:

      Thanks, Leann. Already I had to pull this from one forum I posted it in because I simply haven’t the skin for the bile coming my way. People don’t get that I’m not complaining about criticism – I’m talking about attacks and whispers. And I’ve been PM’d with anonymous “warnings” that Jon is “dangerous” and “not what he seems.”

      That’s not criticism, that’s dead-agenting. Criticism is when I complain about his use of commas. Or his horrible taste in neckties. Or his inability to face a camera without smirking. Or that, yes, sometimes, he’s pedantic, opinionated, arrogant, and a pain in the f’ing neck to reach (but that last one isn’t really his fault – he lives in the middle o’ nowhere, UK). Those are criticisms. What I was complaining about was the whispering campaign with … well, you know.

      Ah, well.

  3. Marta says:

    Terrific post, Spike.

  4. Jeff Levine says:

    Great post, Spike. I have the utmost respect for Jon. My only beef with him is that he, or his proxy said that the videos would be free and then he charged for them, breaking his word. To me, a man’s word is a vow. But no one is perfect!

    • phoenyxrose says:

      Thanks, Jeff – however, to clarify – Jon didn’t break his word; if anyone said the vids would be free, I did, when I was still just a week on the job and confusing the vids with another project that is meant to be for free; I was never instructed to say they were free and was quick to correct the information when my error became clear, but, yes, the damage was done.

      Jon never had any say in how the videos would be offered, and neither did I, and I honestly had no call saying that they would be free, but was confused. I do apologize for the misinformation. That said, if you honestly cannot pay for the vids, we are offering them free for those who cannot pay. Simply message me privately in the ‘About’ box and I’ll hook you up.

  5. bill franks says:

    +Weird but predictable behavior from recovering ex cult members. A good piece. Thank you. Bill Franks

  6. Jenn Root says:

    Very well said! I’m a never-in who had an interesting experience when my husband went to work for a Scilon-owned company where the owner idolized and emulated DM. In very short order they attempted to infiltrate our lives, marriage and help my husband into the “right” path to success. When I started to research, I was scared to death to comment or even ask questions because there were so many “land mines” and unspoken rules that seemed to evoke scary responses. I found the Underground Bunker and began to comment after a time and found a really accepting group of people there. So I can relate on a much lighter, lower level! I can’t imagine what you’re subjected to but I really appreciate all that you do! Additionally I imagine that “never-in” perspective is pretty valuable to your boss’ work (which I love to read!). I’m glad you put this out here because I think many don’t realize they are repeating learned behaviors after so many years of it being “the norm” or scarier still… Much LESS than the “norm” to which they became accustomed! I, too, will do anything I can to help fight this evil group until the final nail is in the coffin and I hope to find a more tangible way to do so, as you have! Thankful you’re here and committed to this until the end!

    • phoenyxrose says:

      Thanks so much, Jenn! Actually, what I go through is extremely light compared to some of the exes I was sharing stories with; one lady had her life all but ruined due, not to her involvement in the cult, but the infighting brought about by some of these repeated behaviors from *other* exes speaking out against the cult.

      And if you like reading Jon’s writing on the Bunker, I do suggest you check out his nonfiction (he has one novel, Voodoo Child, available on Amazon). IMHO, his fiction blows his nonfiction out of the water.

      • Jenn Root says:

        I’ve read a few articles lately about the “cult of ex-scientologists” which makes me sad as the exes I’ve come to know are wonderful people. But it’s incredible how the loud voices of a few extremists come to serve as the face of all! How sad for her to go through the trouble to get out only to deal with that mess on the other side!
        Thanks for the recommendations, I’ll definitely check out his other work! New baby = lots of time to catch up on my Kindle at odd hours of the day! Definitely bookmarking your blog!

      • phoenyxrose says:

        Congrats on the new baby – and enjoy reading!

  7. SallyDannce says:

    Good work Spike! I am an ex that has done a lot of work to recover my humanity, my mind, my life. I hope that doesn’t come across as if I am seeking accolades, etc, because that is the last thing I desire. I just want a quiet peaceful simple life, which I have now mostly achieved. What you write makes a lot of sense to me. There are some predictable patterns. I was wondering, um, um, if you would like to write a success story? I AM KIDDING! Seriously though, it is big job leaving the cult of scientology and shedding all the installed nonsense. A person can leave but still have so much of the installed patterning on automatic. Wishing you all things good Spike and again, thank you for this excellent piece. 🙂

  8. phoenyxrose says:

    Thank you so much! Big hugs to you!

  9. milliedaisy says:

    I have now seen a couple of your articles and posts. You are hilariously insightful. I have only recently got the internet, yes I am old. It was total fun and educational for a while. It filled whatever need I have to voice my opinion ,educate myself make other people laugh. Whatever… Holy F$%king Shit storm. I was in the position of getting publicly embarrassed, for what I thought was a mi nor infraction , No about of apologies was getting me out of. I was truly sorry and see the error of my way. That of course was one person, the amount of other people coming to my defense or saying a soft word was also overwhelming. I still post, I am just getting used to saying IMO only or no offense intended. These lovable culties and their supporters are so much more worth the effort than my hurt feelings. We may not say it loudly Spike but fans forget to tell you how appreciated you are, criticism much easier. I am still in love with the Goth Queen and look out for your posts.

    • phoenyxrose says:

      Thank you so much! Lol, I was Goth before there was the term … back when we used sharpies to color our fingernails black, because there was no such thing as black nail polish in those days. It got all over your clothes and it looked horrible and (cue Dana Carvey’s Angry Old Man) WE LIKED IT LIKE THAT!

      You know you’re old when a cultural reference about being old is outdated…

      You see, what I keep forgetting to mention is my indebtedness to ex-Scientology (perhaps another blog post?). When I got out of my cult in nineteeninetyneveryoumind, the only people who could even begin to help me understand what I’d been through were the folks at the alt.religion boards (by then there was alt.cult, I think?), and the ex-Scientologists who encouraged me and listened to me and knew what I meant.

      Yeah, definitely another blog post… but thank you SO much for your support! It means a lot to know that I’m at least making folks think, and perhaps laugh (hilariously insightful, or insightfully hilarious?).

      S.

  10. Ella R says:

    Thanks Spike.It;s one thing when people are driven to trauma through their random experiences in life, or the terrible misfortune with their family of origin, but when it is a deliberate result of cynical manipulation for profit – on a huge scale – and it still goes on – that’s just heartbreaking. You are writing from the point of view of compassion and that is the best way to protect yourself when good people you care about are hurting you. I’m part of the never-in cheer squad that is delighted with every story of someone that makes it – or has made it – out. but, quite right, that is the start of another long and painful process for many. I have recently started working in an area which puts me in contact with people (other staff) who are recovering from various traumas and it has been quite jaw dropping the behaviours which lurk just beneath the surface, that people fall back into – and these are people who are absolute champions and survivors.

  11. Rainbow says:

    Dear,
    thank you for this article. It was very helpful.
    It is true, the hypnosis is quite deep. Now it is more obvious. The mind is fully implantated with sentences oh this paranoid gang. Undue influence and greed.

    There is one thing i do not understand, despite following Mr Atacks brilliant explanations on manipulations:

    How is and gets the TR 0 and TRs hypnotic?

    (Because this and ottr0 was my only real favourite in Scn as i could relax somehow like in Meditation.)

    • Thanks!

      As far as I understand it (and I don’t claim to be an expert), the TRs – “Training Routines” – are hypnotic via their repetitive nature, the unbroken focus on one thing, and the lowering of normal personal boundaries. Also, the very real feeling of relaxation you felt can be therapeutic: however, if done in an unethical setting, in the wrong hands (and you can’t get hands wronger than Scn), it can create dependency on the procedure and, more dangerously, a certain level of suggestibility to any ideas presented to one in that state, so that if one isn’t given adequate time to process the experience, a person can be softened into giving up their life savings, which is, of course, the real aim of Scientology. Like most of what Hubbard stole, he cobbled together the TR’s with just enough of the healthy practices to draw honest seekers in, and then twisted the techniques to benefit his cash-making scam.

      Right now, the wonderful deconstruction that Steven Hassan and Jon Atack do (with Chris Shelton and Christian Szurko as the demonstators) is currently only available on pay-per-view on vimeo, but Jon and I have requested for that film to be free to the viewing public again, as it is absolutely invaluable. Once it is available, I shall post a link in this blog, so do check back! 😀

  12. Eileen says:

    1000 upvotes

    • Rainbow says:

      Dear Eileen,

      thanks for this sweets!

      I lost five kids into this company. I have to tell this, to remind everyone, that this cult is indeed a real evil cult with a nice PR-face to others.

      And all this greedy things on money (on which others are upset) are not my concern, because you have these things everyday in other nazi-groups.

      It is this hidden hypnotic states, in which you become willing to go self hypnotized follow as a stupid pig, and which are in an epedemic use in this (“most evil cult”, as written in several academic researches – Hubbardcavigism is on the same level as salafists, and much more evil than JW or other cults.)

      Unfortunately, this hidden undue influences is not the point in the enlighmentwork of the last year in the media is about. Only the brutal things. I hope this comes soon in the media, so that everyone can understand it. This knowledge about “soft and silent”-hypnotechniques will make the world a jump into more awareness.

      Unfortunately, you cannot explain this to Hubbardist, as they believe, they know everything on this subject through dianetics. And they believe, dianetics solves hypnotism! What a catch22 !!! Basically brilliant in the sense of a satanistic view.

      So lets be happy, that we are free now. Some people define happiness the dissolving of pain. So we have now infinite happiness, which we always wanted to achieve in the cult, simply through escaping the hypnotists and see how this really works.

      (Clapping hands to Mr Atacks work and his openmind foundation and his storys at Mr Ortegas blog.).

      Shit, I wanted to write only two lines….. 😉

      • Thank you for your wonderful comment. In the words of a wise man: “I didn’t have time to write a short letter, so I wrote a long one.” 🙂

      • Rainbow says:

        Dear Spike,

        this was the finest and wisest Scn-Blog Comment I have seen until now!

        Do you still work for the openmind foundation?

        In the sense of “wise” is this foundation the best derivation of the anti-hubbardcavigeism, and leaded so to a worthy new view to the world, totally away of the small view of a cult and anti-ism. Socrates will smile. 😉

  13. Hi Rainbow!

    Yes, I am now working full-time for the Foundation; my own personal goal is to see this puppy to adulthood and really do what I can to change folks’ lives for the better through its existence.

    We focus on undue influence in all its manifestations, so one day I’ll be researching human trafficking, the next, fraudulent advertising. It’s an amazing and eye-opening body of research, and just an honor to be part of a growing movement of thinkers who are helping the public get educated about who is persuading them to do what – and why.

    Here’s our website:http://openmindsfoundation.org

  14. Chris says:

    hi spike! through a fun, ironic twist, i was led here by a link in a discussion i was observing that turned out to be the very one you referenced in your edit. as a never-in but avid watcher who does her best to educate anyone who will listen, i’ve found my head spinning at the colossal amount of mind-fuckery going on lately between many of the exes. to quote an old friend, “what in the cornbread hell is going on??!” everyone i had previously looked to for insights is being accused of conspiring against someone, or trying to pay off someone, or (wtf?) covering for a rapist…etc, etc, etc.

    on the one hand, i feel like the ones pointing the fingers and talking the loudest seem to be the most suspect :::coughmartycough::: on the other hand, i’ve lived with a narcissist and seen how they can play cute & innocent when they need to, so perhaps that adorable tori magoo really is a lying, conniving backstabber after all… (sorry, not buying it!)

    your post helped me regain my equilibrium and also helped me make sense of so much. i agree that everyone is susceptible – i’ve experienced the hive mentality directed toward me on tony’s when i dared to speculate that perhaps there was something else afoot with tom cruise not seeing siri that we’re not aware of. i was immediately flagged as a plant by some, so i exited before i became shark bait. at other times i’ve had lovely, fun, and sane exchanges with the same group.

    that’s my long way of saying that even those with the best intentions can succumb to exactly what you described. i’m glad to have found this – and now i have tons more reading to catch up on with your website and this blog. i’m sorry you are having to endure the backlash, but take heart in knowing that your sanity and compassion shine through. that can only ensure that you attract the same, and you will scare the hell out of the rest. *peace*

    p.s. has the video you mentioned where the TRs are deconstructed been released?

    • Thank you so much, Chris! Your kind, encouraging words mean more than you know.

      Unfortunately, I haven’t been heard back from the man with the ‘on’ switch for the TR videos yet, but I hope to hear from him soon – many of the people on my contacts list are so insanely busy that the only thing to do is to check back. At this point, enough people are asking that I shall most likely announce when they get released in a blog post here.

      Lawsy, yes, I’ve seen – and become swept up in – the hive mentality, and those who know how to manipulate can be the widest-eyed, innocentest little lambs ever. And even the best of us grow claws from time to time, if we feel threatened enough. That said, Tory is an absolute real, honest sweetheart; I can vouch for this, having roomed with her for a week in Toronto (and still I apologize to her for my hideous snoring!).

      And of course, in any group, there’ll be the folks who will cheerfully, as the boss says, “disagree agreeably,” and then there’ll be the folks who’ll get pissy if you say that the sixth Harry Potter movie was an incomprehensible jumble, even to those of us who had the book memorized walking into the theater. And don’t get me started about the lack of screentime given to Alan Rickman in anything after the first movie – one of the finest talents to grace the silver screen, in one of the most brilliant casting choices in the history of fucking film, and you waste him on slapsick!?!?….

      But I digress.

      The thing I keep wanting to get out to those who are telling the world how “terrible” we are is that I am never going to call myself their enemy. While I decry the actions, I remember that there are people behind those habits, people who, like me, are idealists, who honestly started out trying to help make the world a better place. I know that some folks have lost their way, but it’s not up to me to judge who, and certainly not to say publicly. To my mind, it’s just another facet of the damage done by the cult.

      Scientology tears apart families and friendships. Its very nature is division, disfunction, and disagreement – an absolute clone of L. Ron Hubbard.

      Thank you for coming over here and reading with an open mind. I hope you enjoy the rest of the crazy little posts here.

      And I love: “what the cornbread hell.” I might hafta start using that.

  15. Chris says:

    Silly me, yes, I realized after I posted that the reference to the TR videos was recent (d’oh!) Thanks for confirming what I felt in my heart about Tori – I have the biggest crush on her; she is such a doll!! I won’t get you started on Alan Rickman, but I think you are not alone in your feelings.

    Thanks for the sage words about separating the people from the actions. It’s something I struggle with, especially when the actions are so confounding or cruel; I tend to get sucked up trying to rationalize or refute the gaslighting. But being more compassionate is something I strive for, so I look forward to learning from you 🙂

Leave a Reply

